How Barnes & Noble’s Nook Just Shifted the Playing Field: a Giant Killer In The Making?

  A minute ago, the Nook was an overpriced book reader from a traditional bookseller being beaten by its web-driven competitor that was late to the market anyway. Now, it’s a very attractive, cost-effective Android tablet – and did you know you could download all of Barnes & Noble’s books on it, too? From niche […]


Three Cups of 60 Minutes and the Downside of Lying

Author Greg Mortenson, who sold a zillion copies of his book, Three Cups of Tea, is now accused by television’s 60 Minutes and by others of fabricating the main elements of his book. It didn’t happen that way, the records purport to show, and thus the entire house of cards upon which his book is […]


Three Things You Can Change Today to Topple the Goliath You Face

A week and a half after launching Killing Giants: 10 Strategies to Topple the Goliath In Your Industry, I’ve learned three important lessons. First, I have a supportive group of friends. Thanks for everything – all of you – from subtle forms of encouragement to sending me a carton of books (my books, that you’ve […]


Storytelling, Brand Identity and the Power of Context

Join us on Friday, April 1st, at 9:00AM Pacific time/12:00PM Eastern, for #kaizenblog on Twitter, where we’ll be discussing this idea of brand storytelling. “I learned about ducking and diving from the police everyday to avoid the road blocks. I didn’t have a white employer. To go into those areas every day was quite risky. […]


The Role of Leadership in Decision Making: Input, Alignment & Execution

We’re discussing this idea of the Role of Leadership in Decision Making on Tuesday, March 29th, at 8:00PM Eastern, 5:00PM Pacific, on Twitter at #LeadershipChat – join the discussion! I interviewed over 70 business leaders – CEO’s, founders and others in positions to make things happen and motivate effort – in Killing Giants: 10 Strategies […]